October Art Bead Scene Challenge

This month’s Art Bead Scene Challenge is full of colors I love – the reds and browns – as well as colors I’d never imagine putting with them – the blue and magenta.  The palette was totally outside of my comfort zone, but that’s kind of the point, isn’t it?

Oct. abs

 

As much as I thought this would be a great opportunity for mokume gane, I also know that I’d happily do mokume gane for pretty much every challenge ever, (boy, do I love that technique).  Instead, I decided to go with a technique I rarely use – stripes.

Of course, I didn’t want to do just simple stripes, so I jazzed things up a bit by dragging a tool through the layers to create a chevron effect.  The pendant on the left was the first one I made with this batch of clay.  Then, I compressed my block of layered clay to create smaller layers.  Compressing the layers made some of the colors blend together a bit, but like the result better.

15468858828_b40017e87b_o

 

Even though this palette is outside of my comfort zone, I have to say it’s growing on me.

About Ali

I take pictures, make jewelry, read books, and bake things. I especially like macro photography and polymer clay.
This entry was posted in Art Bead Scene, Hand made, Jewelry, Polymer Clay and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

