Awesome Lemon Sugar Cookies

It’s important to have a few tried & true crowd-pleasing recipes you can pull out in a pinch and use to whip up something everyone will love.  Up until now, whenever I needed cookies everyone was pretty much guaranteed to love, I’d fall back on these chocolate mint cookies.  They are basically a home made version of Thin Mints, except chewier, and they’re a hit every time.

A few weeks ago, I decided to try out a new recipe that I had on one of my Pinterest boards.  The recipe is for lemon sugar cookies and you can find it here.  The cookies are completely delicious.  Just look at this lovely golden dough.

image

After my first batch disappeared in the blink of an eye, I made a second for some company this weekend.  This time, I added about a spoonful of poppy seeds and included lime zest in place of some of the lemon.  Here are the cookies post-squishing right before they head into the oven.  You can see the poppy seed flecks pretty clearly.

image

Here’s the first cookie sheet’s worth.  The empty spot indicates the first cookie I had to eat for quality control purposes.  Yep, still delicious.

image

I love it when I can find a new go-to recipe and this one has all the best qualities – super easy, super delicious, and a bit unusual.  An all around winner and I hope you’ll try it out.  You won’t regret it.

About Ali

I take pictures, make jewelry, read books, and bake things. I especially like macro photography and polymer clay.
This entry was posted in Baking, Food and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Awesome Lemon Sugar Cookies

  1. jbsnow says:

    I love these!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

