A Minor Mug Obsession

My husband is getting worried.  I keep finding wonderful mugs and our kitchen cabinets stubbornly remain the same size.  He says I need to stop buying pottery, and I say that I just need to do a little rearranging…

Here’s an overview of my current collection (including a few tumblers).  This is quite not all of them.  A few were in the dishwasher and unavailable for the shoot.

2014-07-21 013

When I was an undergraduate, I took a ceramics class and got to learn first hand just how hard it is to throw a good cylinder.  Toward the end of the semester, I finally felt like I was starting to know what I was doing.

I think my love of a good mug started then.  Of course, being a broke student, my budget for hand made pottery was just a hair over nil.  I lucked out here and there at the thrift shop, though, and found some nice ones.  In the picture above, the four that are front and center are all thrift store finds.

This guy, courtesy of Goodwill, is one of my all-time favorites.

2014-07-21 004

Over the years, I’ve been adding to my collection.  Art galleries, art festivals, and even the Renaissance Fair have helped me round out my stash.  I’ve gotten more particular about what I pick out, too.  I keep looking for pieces that are more and more unusual in their shape or surface treatment.  I don’t just want something that will hold my tea, I want art that holds my tea!

This piece, which is one of my latest, definitely fits that bill.  Her sgraffito is gorgeous.  I found it at ArtStir in Denver over Memorial weekend.  The artist is Kristin Gruenberger, if you’re interested in checking out more of her work.

image

Now that I’m on Etsy and regularly skimming the listings, I’m having to use a lot of self discipline.  There are so many beautiful mugs, and I want to buy them all.  Instead, I appeased myself by putting together a mug treasury which is also serving as my wish list.  Soon enough, I’ll give into temptation and order a lovely new mug.  And then, I’ll have to figure out how to make room for it in the cupboard…

 

About Ali

I take pictures, make jewelry, read books, and bake things. I especially like macro photography and polymer clay.
This entry was posted in Hand made and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Minor Mug Obsession

  1. Cee Neuner says:

    I adore your collection!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

