Throwback Thursday: My First Macro

I splurged in college and got my first digital camera, a Panasonic Lumix.  I was a broke student and, at the time, this camera was an incredible luxury.  It was also worth every penny.  The very best feature of the camera was the macro feature.

At the time, I took a lot of walks along the Pueblo Nature Trail and I took my camera with me.  I learned a lot by trial & error and wound up with a lot of dud pictures.  However, bit by bit, I got better at finding the right shots and I started falling in love with macro photography.

Here are a couple of my early macros that I’m still willing to publicly claim today.  The fact that the color palettes are so similar is a happy coincidence.

Picture 637 Picture 554

One of the best things I learned from walking the same path so many times is the importance of the details.  Sometimes, even a mundane subject becomes interesting if you have the right focus, or angle, or if you really zoom in.  I started learning how to really look during those walks, and knowing how to look is half the battle.

About Ali

I take pictures, make jewelry, read books, and bake things. I especially like macro photography and polymer clay.
This entry was posted in Colorado, Nature, Photography and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Throwback Thursday: My First Macro

  1. Nice first one ! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

