Blog Mascot

Dog burrito

Sherman is a girl with a guy’s name because I really wanted to name my dog after a writer and Sherman, for Sherman Alexie, seemed like the right fit.  I blame any gender confusion on a friend of mine who let her son name their dog and, being a major Ninja Turtles fan, he named the dog Leo despite the fact that Leo is a girl.  So, you see, there was a precedent at the time.

I found Sherman at the animal shelter and originally I preferred a different dog entirely.  However, I learned she wasn’t available for adoption at that time (pregnant), so I went with my runner-up dog and, six years later, I couldn’t be happier about it. Before you ask, I haven’t a clue what breed she is.  Mutt, for sure, and it seems likely that she’s part boxer, perhaps part pit bull, and the rest is anybody’s guess.  Whatever she is, though, it’s proven a good combo.

Sherman

Since I got married, she’s been training my husband.  So far, she has trained him to take her hiking on the weekend and for walks during the week.  She has trained him to stuff her toys with treats, to brush her, and to always keep an eye out at the pet store for cool new toys.  However, she has not been successful in training him to let her out to pee/investigate the yard in the middle of the night.  No, for that, she trained me.  I’ve shown great aptitude for that trick, much to her delight.

About Ali

I take pictures, make jewelry, read books, and bake things. I especially like macro photography and polymer clay.
This entry was posted in Colorado, Dogs and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Blog Mascot

  1. Run A Muck Ranch says:

    I believe the ‘breed’ identification you’re looking for is Perfection Hound. She has a little bit of the best of everything 🙂

    Like

    • Ali says:

      I think that’s the perfect way to put it 🙂

      Like

      • Run A Muck Ranch says:

        When Vito was in for his first ultrasound, the waiting room was curiously full of Bichons and Malteses, all in fancy carriers. Their people huddled in breed specific groups, though they politely exchanged words with the ‘other side’, all discussing virtues of the breeds.

        Some hadn’t seen Vito before he was taken in the back. When the tech brought him back to me, and put him in my arms (I’M the carrier for my dogs), one of the ladies asked what kind of dog he was.

        Without hesitation, I said, “A perfect one!”. The room went silent.

        Always remember, perfection isn’t a kind, it’s a soul. 🙂

        Like

  2. blueberriejournal says:

    What a beauty! I gave my female dog a boys name as well, and I know a few other female dogs with guys names. On the other hand I only met once a man who named his male dog Paula. 🙂

    Like

  3. She’s adorable and has you two well trained 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

