Street Rod Photo Shoot

This weekend was the National Street Rod Association’s show in Pueblo and since my husband likes old cars, we went to check it out.  Growing up in Pueblo, I’d always seen all the cars around town during the annual event, but this time was the first year that I went to the fair grounds to check it out.  I’m not a car buff, by any means, but I discovered that taking photos of street rods is a lot of fun.

DSC_0006

Since macro photography is my favorite kind, and since street rods have lots of interesting details, only about a dozen of the 250+ photos I took were of whole cars.

DSC_0160  DSC_0188

The tough part about the event was the clear Colorado sky and the fact that most of the cars were in full sun.  Once I downloaded the photos, I had to do a bit of tweaking to most of them to balance out the intensity of the light which tended to wash out the colors and obscure the details.

Then I played around with some black and white.DSC_0099 DSC_0037And realized I’d taken an accidental selfie.  It wasn’t the only one, either.  Those cars sure are reflective and my viewfinder is small enough that it didn’t always reveal the goof while I was shooting.  Live and learn.  (And use a longer lens.)

DSC_0096There are more photos of street rods, and lots of other things, on my Flickr page.

 

About Ali

I take pictures, make jewelry, read books, and bake things. I especially like macro photography and polymer clay.
This entry was posted in Colorado, Photography and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Street Rod Photo Shoot

  1. Pingback: The Relic in the Rearview | Rouladen

  2. quarksire says:

    2 kewl fer skewl,,,since they come through here every year 🙂

    Like

  3. Pingback: One Word Photo Challenge: Aqua | Rouladen

  4. Pingback: Cee’s Fun Foto Challenge: Car Details | Rouladen

  5. Pingback: Classics, Street Rods, and Lots and Lots of Headlights | Rouladen

Leave a Reply

