A Visit to the Botanic Gardens

The longer I practice photography, the more I understand the value of taking lots and lots of pictures.  This Saturday, I visited the Denver Botanic Gardens to see the Chihuly exhibit.  I spent about three hours touring the gardens and taking pictures.  All together, I wound up with 406 pictures.  Unfortunately, I only thought to bring my macro lens, because macro is my favorite, but a longer lens would have really come in handy for shooting the glass sculptures.

Chihuly sculpture

Chihuly sculpture

Chihuly sculpture

Chihuly sculpture

I was fortunate to have some cloud cover for part of the visit which provided nice light quality for a number of the photos.  We ended up leaving right before a rain shower, so the timing was, on the whole, just about rightl

Up close with a flower

Up close with a flower

It was a busy day for bees at the garden and there seemed to be thousands of them on the flowers.  I was pleased to get some good macros of them.

One of the many bees at work

One of the many bees at work

This was my third visit to the Botanic Gardens, my husband and I have made it a yearly event, and it’s quickly becoming one of my favorite traditions.  Now I just need to get a second camera battery, because the one I have doesn’t have enough juice to go much beyond 400 shots, and I could easily have taken a hundred more during the trip.

About Ali

I take pictures, make jewelry, read books, and bake things. I especially like macro photography and polymer clay.
This entry was posted in Colorado, Photography and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Visit to the Botanic Gardens

  1. Bipasha says:

    wow, those Chihuly sculptures are incredible!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Annual Denver Botanic Gardens Trip | Rouladen

Leave a Reply

